Reddit Twitter Discord Facebook
Homepage
Adv. Search Recent Cards Archive Factions Misc Resources 2022 Sets 2021 Sets 2020 Sets Promo Cards

Set 5 Rule Changes

Posted on 9th November, 2022 at 5:22am CST
In preparation for the release of Set 5 in Japan, GateRuler.jp published a new article with quite a lot of rule changes. Fortunately, most of them are quality of life changes that make the texts and rulings more intuitive.

The article is written by a newly hired text and rule manager, who asks to call them Mr. Ruler. Text below is my, Orenji's, loose translation of the original article you can find here.
-----------------------------------------------
Erratas


G&G Armament Factory and Specialist "Spotter" Giraffe now increase damage dealt to both enemy and allied units. Before the errata, Lucifer was able to deal massive damage to the enemy board, while your own didn't get damaged as much.






Abyssal Summoning of Zahira, Nature's Emissary now works as every other card with Abyssal Summoning keyword. Before this, this card was ruled to stay in play for her ability, while all other cards with that keyword send themselves to the graveyard. Because it wasn't written in its text, this card was used to perform Abyssal Summoning multiple times in a row, which was not how the card was intended to function.













Hit-and-Run Comet's timing allowed it to be played only when your opponent's life goes to 2 or below. It made the card very impractical in use, as it could only be used in a very specific and small window. Now instead of "when your opponent is reduced to 2 or less life." it says "while your opponent's life is 2 or less.", making it much more versatile.






For its 1st option, The Two Paths now reveals the top 5 cards of the deck. The card was supposed to forcefully remove all CNTs it reveal, but because it was only your opponent who saw the cards, they were allowed to leave some "bad" CNTs in the opponent's deck, as the other player had no knowledge what was in those 5 cards.






Space Elf Johnny's ability now allows you to not pay the played event's cost. Before the errata, you had to pay both the DR and the resource cost, making the card unplayable in its own dedicated deck.














Keyword Changes


Double Attack/Triple Attack
Before: When this unit attacks, at the end of that combat, if it has attacked less than (number) times this turn, ready this unit.
Now: At the end of this unit's combat, if it has attacked less than (number) times this turn, ready this unit.
Now it's more intuitively written. Plus, it makes Experimental Powersuit "Tsukikage" a better card, because in the old keyword wording its ability could only give itself Double Attack when it attacks and total damage is 14, and the damage you deal with this attack doesn't matter. Now it checks the damage at the end of the combat, so it will count the damage it dealt with this attack.









Breakthrough
Before: At the beginning of the damage step, if this unit or ruler is attacking a unit in the opponent’s defense zone, then at the end of damage step, if this unit or ruler is still attacking the center column, the opponent’s defense zone is empty, and this unit or ruler has not yet dealt combat damage to the opponent’s ruler for this attack, this unit or ruler deals damage to the opponent’s ruler equal to its STK.
Now: At the end of the damage step, if this unit or ruler is attacking the center column, the opponent's unit that was in combat with this unit is no longer in the opponent’s defense zone, and this unit or ruler has not yet dealt combat damage to the opponent’s ruler for this attack, this unit or ruler deals damage to the opponent’s ruler equal to its STK.
Prior iteration had multiple timings within one ability, making it very convoluted and hard to understand. Futhermore, due to how it was worded, your opponent was able to play a unit in defense zone as an instant action (for example - A7 "Cheshire" the Cat) after the defensive unit takes combat damage. Since that unit was replaced with a new one, Breakthrough didn't work. Now it will work, as it checks for the specific unit that was in combat with the card that has Breakthrough.




Add as a Charge
Before: “Add (card A) underneath (card B) as a charge” or “Put (card A) on the bottom (of card B)” means moving card A to the charge zone of card B’s controller. While there, card A is linked to card B.
New addition: If card A cannot be linked to card B for any reason, the action of moving card A to the charge zone is not performed.
Before the change, if your opponent uses Vamha's "Place of Lost Souls" to add one of your units to its charge, and in response you somehow make Vamha leave play, the targeted card would still have to be moved to a charge zone. However, since it cannot be linked to a card in play, it is sent to the graveyard as a rule action. After the change, it is no longer a thing, and your unit would stay in play in the said situation.
Edited by Orenji_Reiji on 9th November, 2022 at 6:02am CST